Eaglecrest Ski Area: Juneau's Community-Owned Ski Hill
Eaglecrest Ski Area is Juneau's own mountain: a community-owned and operated ski area on Douglas Island, about 12 miles from downtown, with three double chairlifts serving 640 skiable acres, a 1,620-foot vertical drop, 36 marked alpine runs and 8 kilometers of Nordic trails. It is owned and operated by Juneau's municipal government, which makes it the rare ski hill that is a public department with a board of directors, and it prices like one: $85 adult full day for the 2026/2027 season, figures the operator publishes on its own ticket page. The snow is coastal, which this page takes seriously rather than politely ignoring: rain-on-snow days are part of the deal at a mountain 12 road miles from a rainforest town. This page carries the ticket grid, the schedule the operator actually states, the season pattern, and the road that gets you there. The Douglas Island page covers the rest of the island, and the things to do in Juneau hub ranks it against the summer alternatives, and the Juneau city guide indexes the whole trip.
Quick answer What it is, what it costs, when it runs, and the snow truth, in three lines
Eaglecrest is Juneau's community-owned ski area on Douglas Island, three double chairs, 640 acres and a 1,620-foot vertical. Full-day lift tickets run $85 adult, $42 youth and $13 child for the 2026/2027 season, on the operator's own grid, with the mountain scheduled Wednesday through Sunday plus holiday breaks and the season running roughly early December to mid-April.
Key takeaways
- Every price here is from the operator's own lift ticket page, read 2026-09-10: $85 adult full day, $70 half day from noon, $42 youth, $13 child, $30 Nordic day use, and a 3% fee on card payments.
- The schedule is coastal-hill real: Wednesday to Sunday is the regular pattern, daily only over Christmas Break, MLK Day and Presidents' Day, so a Monday ski plan in Juneau fails, and the getting around page covers the 12-mile road that decides the rest.
- The snow is the honest story: coastal snowfall with rain-on-snow days built in, an average the operator's own references put in the hundreds of inches and a record the Wikipedia article carries at 640 inches in 2011. Check the snow report, not the brochure, and the Douglas Island page explains the road-side reality.
Key facts
Opening hours
| Operating days, regular schedule | Wednesday–Sunday; the operator states its regular schedule is Wednesday to Sunday, with daily operations over Christmas Break, MLK Day and Presidents Day |
|---|---|
| Office, winter | Wed to Sun–Listed by day; office hours are published; the lift operating clock is not printed on the pages we read |
Closed Monday and Tuesday outside the named holiday breaks; the season itself runs roughly early December to mid-April per the operator's own season references and third-party season summaries
Admission
- Adult
- $85 full day all mountain, ages 19 to 64 (2026/2027 season, operator's own ticket page); $70 half day from noon
- Reduced
- $75 senior 65+; $60 teen 13 to 18; $42 youth 7 to 12; $13 child 2 to 6; half days $70/$70/$45/$33; college and military with ID $60
- Free
- Juneau 5th graders ride free through the 5th Grade Passport, one lift ticket, one lesson and one rental; nothing else is published as free, and a 3% convenience fee applies to card transactions
Planning it
- Time needed
- Not stated by the operator. Our routing: a ski day is most of a day, about 30 minutes each way from downtown plus a 9:00-to-15:30-scale on-snow window at the winter daylight the [weather page](/weather-by-month/) quantifies; the Nordic loops and the lodge make a half day work
- Book ahead
- Optional — walk-up usually fine
- Address
- Eaglecrest Ski Area, Douglas Island, Juneau, AK; about 12 miles from downtown Juneau by the Douglas road, per the operator and the snow-report services
Every figure is the operator's own 2026/2027 lift ticket page, read 2026-09-10; no reseller discount exists because no platform sells Eaglecrest tickets, so there is nothing to hunt.
Full day at $85 if the snow report is honest, the half day at $70 if the forecast is coastal, and the Nordic $30 if the alpine surface is rain.
| Ticket | Full day | Half day, noon on | Who it fits | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adult, 19 to 64Visitors and locals skiing a full schedule day, Wednesday to Sunday | $85 | $70 | The standard ski or board day; the season pass pays for itself in the operator's own arithmetic of roughly nine visit days | Official site |
| Teen 13 to 18 / Youth 7 to 12Families with school-age skiers; the with kids page carries the winter pairing | $60 / $42 | $45 / $33 | Families; the youth-to-adult price gap is wider than most resorts, which is the community-hill identity in numbers | Official site |
| Child 2 to 6 / Senior 65+Young families and active seniors | $13 / $75 | Not listed / $70 | Small children ski for pocket change; seniors pay nearly the adult rate, which surprises visitors used to 65-plus discounts | Official site |
| Nordic day use, all agesCross-country skiers and anyone who wants the mountain without the chairs | $30 | Not stated | The 8 km of groomed Nordic loops as their own product, no alpine lift | Official site |
All rows are the operator's own published prices, untracked. The 3% convenience fee on card transactions and the Juneau 5th Grade Passport free ticket come from the same page. No tour or platform row appears because no platform sells this mountain.
No Tours Exist for the Ski Hill, and That Is the Finding
No platform sells Eaglecrest, so this grid carries the closest bookable products rather than pretending a ski card exists. Prices and ratings are the platform's own, read 2026-09-10.
from $51.45
from $159
from $524.99
Prices, ratings and details are the platform's own; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.
The Mountain: Three Doubles, 640 Acres and the Bowls
Eaglecrest is a big-mountain experience with a small-mountain feel, as its own DMO listing puts it; here is what that means in terrain.
The terrain numbers are stable across sources: three double chairlifts accessing 640 acres, a 1,620-foot vertical drop, 36 marked alpine runs, two Nordic loops totalling 8 kilometers of groomed trail, and backcountry access the operator markets plainly. The Wikipedia article, matching the operator's mountain information, breaks the run difficulty at roughly 20 percent easiest, 40 percent more difficult and 40 percent most difficult, and names the features: East and West Bowls, Pittman's Ridge, and the Hilda and Benches glades, with a terrain park when snow and staffing allow. The DMO's listing adds the groomed Nordic product and the summer and shoulder season, when the same road serves hikers and mountain bikers on the trails network.
- Three double chairlifts: slow by resort standards, and the reason the operator can honestly claim hardly a lift line
- 1,620 vertical feet from a 2,750-foot summit to a 1,130-foot base, per the Wikipedia article's figures
- The bowls and glades hold the snow and the steeper skiing; the front side carries the groomers the families live on
- Nordic: 8 km of loops groomed as a separate product at $30 day use, one of the cheaper snow sports tickets in the state
The amenities, and the Grill
The DMO's listing runs the on-site set: equipment rentals, a Snowsports School, retail and repair services, day lockers, and the Eaglecrest Grill. The Snowsports School includes the adaptive program, with lessons for students with physical and learning disabilities, which the Wikipedia article singles out and the operator's own pages carry under its community programs. For a visitor, the practical shape is simple: rent at the base, book lessons ahead on holiday weekends, and eat at the Grill or tailgate in the lot; no official page publishes the Grill's menu or hours, so treat both as day-of discoveries.
Season, Schedule and the Snow Reality
The season pattern and the coastal snow are the two facts that decide whether a Juneau ski day happens; both deserve the blunt version.
The operator's own statement of the schedule is the anchor: Eaglecrest's regular operating schedule is Wednesday through Sunday, with daily operations over Christmas Break, MLK Day and Presidents' Day. The season pattern runs from roughly the first weekend of December through mid-April, per the Wikipedia article's summary of the area's seasons, and the snow-report services carry projected opening and closing dates in that same window, with a mid-December opening projected for the coming season. The honest top-line: a Juneau ski plan that lands on a Monday or a Tuesday outside the named breaks is not a plan, and a season that opens in December in Southeast Alaska opens late by Interior standards.
| Fact | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Regular schedule | Wednesday to Sunday; daily over named holiday breaks | Operator's own site |
| Season window | Roughly first weekend of December to mid-April | Wikipedia season summary; snow services' projections |
| Projected opening | Mid-December for the coming season | OnTheSnow snow report, read 2026-09-10 |
| Average snowfall | Around 320 inches, with a 640-inch record in 2011 | Wikipedia article; operator references vary and no official current figure is printed |
The webcam and the snow report, in that order
The snow-report services carry an Eaglecrest feed and the operator's own channels post conditions, but the one tool a coastal mountain demands is the webcam: the ski area's site carries webcams that show the alpine surface as it actually is, which is the difference between a forecast and a fact on a mountain where rain can end the skiing mid-morning. Check the webcam before you pay the $85, the snow report before you rent, and the schedule before you drive, because a Monday arrival defeats all three.
The rain-on-snow problem, stated plainly
Eaglecrest is a coastal ski area 12 miles from a rainforest capital with 230 precipitation days a year, per the site's weather pack, and that geography shows up as rain on the mountain in any warm front: the pattern locals call Pineapple Express weeks, when the alpine surface cycles from powder to plaster. The operator does not publish a rain policy or a wet-weather refund rule on the pages we read, so the honest advice is structural: check the snow report the morning of, favor the Nordic loops when the alpine surface is heavy, and treat a $70 half day from noon as the designed product for exactly these days. The rain and what to do page covers the town-level version of the same weather.
Getting There: the Douglas Road and the Winter Drive
The mountain sits at the end of the Douglas Island road system, and the drive is half the logistics.
The operator puts the distance at a 15-minute drive from downtown Juneau, on Douglas Island, and the snow-report services carry the same figure as 12 miles from downtown. The route is the Douglas Bridge across Gastineau Channel, then the road up the island to the ski area's lot, a drive the Douglas Island page describes in full. In winter the road is plowed but real: coastal rain at sea level can be snow or ice at the lot, and the pull-up is a mountain access road, not a resort boulevard.
No transit route serves the ski area; the getting around page shows the bus network's Douglas reach stops well short, so the ski day is a rental-car, taxi or carpool plan, and the parking lot, on powder Saturdays, is the busiest surface on the mountain.
- Rental car or taxi: about 30 minutes door to door from downtown docks in winter conditions, our estimate on the operator's 15-minute fair-weather figure
- No bus: the transit network does not reach the hill, and no official source suggests a shuttle exists
- Carpool: the local norm on powder days, and the lot fills accordingly
- Winter driving: carry the assumption the road is icy at the top when it is raining downtown; nobody official publishes a road-status line
How long the day takes
The operator publishes no visit length, and the lift clock is not printed on the pages we read. Our routing: most of a day, with the drive, rental fitting and a full schedule day on snow; a half-day ticket from noon is the honest product for a town that gets winter daylight, not darkness, in the heart of the season, and the weather by month page quantifies that daylight so the last chair arithmetic works.
Five Things Most Visitors Do Not Know About Eaglecrest
Every line ends in its source; the operator's pages, the Wikipedia article and the CBJ page were read on 2026-09-10.
- The ski area is a department of the City and Borough of Juneau with its own board of directors, which is why a public-scholarship page on the city's site names Eaglecrest Ski Area and its Board of Directors as the awarding body. (juneau.org, read 2026-09-10.)
- The operator's own site does not name the City and Borough; it calls the area community-owned and operated, and the Wikipedia article supplies the municipal government ownership the city's site implies. (skieaglecrest.com and Wikipedia, both read 2026-09-10.)
- Juneau 5th graders ski free: the 5th Grade Passport bundles a lift ticket, one lesson and one rental at no charge, which is the community-hill mission in a single product. (skieaglecrest.com lift ticket page.)
- A 3% convenience fee applies to card transactions, a surcharge the ticket grid does not headline and the card user discovers at checkout. (skieaglecrest.com lift ticket page.)
- The snowfall figures disagree in public: the Wikipedia article's body carries an average of 320 inches with a 640-inch record in 2011 while its own infobox lists 350 inches, and the operator's current pages print no average at all, which is why this page prints both with their sources. (Wikipedia, read 2026-09-10.)
Sources: skieaglecrest.com home and lift-ticket pages (fetched 2026-09-10), the CBJ Eaglecrest page (fetched 2026-09-10), the Wikipedia article on Eaglecrest Ski Area (read 2026-09-10), the Travel Juneau listing and the OnTheSnow snow report (both read 2026-09-10).
Skiing Well: What to Do and What Not to Bother With
Five decisions worth making before the Douglas road, and the missteps the schedule and the climate punish.
Do
- Plan the ski day on a Wednesday-to-Sunday window, because the regular schedule skips Monday and Tuesday outside the named holiday breaks
- Check the snow report the morning of; the coastal snow cycles fast and the report is the only truth that matters
- Buy the half day from noon if the forecast is warm rain; the ticket structure exists for exactly that day
- Book rentals and lessons ahead on holiday weekends, when the community mountain serves the whole town at once
- Give the Nordic loops their due at $30; on a rain-on-snow alpine day they are the best snow product on the island
Don't
- Do not plan a Monday or Tuesday ski outside the Christmas, MLK and Presidents' Day breaks; the lifts do not run
- Do not expect resort infrastructure; three doubles, a base lodge and a Grill is the whole machine, and the Grill's hours are not published
- Do not budget the posted 15-minute drive in a snowstorm; the access road is mountain real and the winter drive runs longer
- Do not hunt for a discount platform; no reseller carries Eaglecrest tickets, and the operator's own grid is the only price that exists
- Do not ignore the card fee; the 3% convenience charge is on every card transaction and cash avoids it
Schedule, prices and fees are the operator's own, read 2026-09-10; drive-time adjustments and the Nordic advice are ours and marked as such.
Eaglecrest Map: the Douglas Road and the Channel
The ski area on Douglas Island's road system, the Douglas Bridge crossing, and downtown for scale. The ski area pin is our placement at the published location.
Our placement: the ski area coordinate is positioned to the published location on Douglas Island, not to an official point record; the route pins are orientation, not stops.
What to Pair With the Ski Day
The mountain owns the island's winter; these are the pages that plan around it.
Douglas Island
The Treadwell ruins, the Perseverance-side views and the road the ski day drives. The Douglas Island page covers the island beyond the parking lot.
The island the mountain sits onDowntown Juneau
The docks, the museums and the food that bookend a ski day. The downtown page sequences the post-ski evening.
Twelve road miles back across the channelWeather by month
Winter daylight figures decide the last chair, and the precipitation counts explain the snow report. The weather page is the ski planner's table.
The daylight and the rainEaglecrest Ski Area Questions
How much are lift tickets at Eaglecrest Ski Area?
The operator's 2026/2027 grid: $85 adult full day for ages 19 to 64, $75 senior, $60 teen, $42 youth and $13 child, with half days from noon at $70 adult. A 3% convenience fee applies to card transactions. Nordic day use is $30 for all ages. Every figure is from the operator's own lift ticket page, read 2026-09-10.
When is Eaglecrest open?
The operator's regular schedule is Wednesday through Sunday, with daily operations over Christmas Break, MLK Day and Presidents' Day. The season runs roughly from the first weekend of December to mid-April per the season summaries, and the snow-report services project a mid-December opening for the coming season. Lift operating hours are not printed on the pages we read; the ticket window and the calendar carry them day by day.
Who owns Eaglecrest Ski Area?
Juneau's municipal government: the Wikipedia article states the area is owned and operated by the city, and the City and Borough of Juneau's own site treats Eaglecrest as a department with its board of directors. The operator's own site calls it community-owned and operated. It is the only ski area in Southeast Alaska.
How do you get to Eaglecrest from downtown Juneau?
By road on Douglas Island: the operator says 15 minutes from downtown and the snow services carry it as 12 miles, across the Douglas Bridge and up the island road. In winter, plan 30 minutes in real conditions, our estimate. No bus serves the ski area, so the options are rental car, taxi or a local carpool.
Does it snow or rain at Eaglecrest?
Both, and the balance is the mountain's defining fact: coastal snowfall averages in the hundreds of inches per the published figures, with a 640-inch record in 2011, but warm fronts bring rain-on-snow cycles that reset the alpine surface. No official rain policy is published, so the snow report is the morning-of authority, and the Nordic loops are the product that survives the warm days.
Is Eaglecrest good for beginners?
Yes, with the honest frame that it is a community hill: the front side carries the groomed learning terrain, the Snowsports School includes an adaptive program the operator's own materials feature, and Juneau 5th graders ski free with a lesson and rental through the 5th Grade Passport. The bowls and glades are the advanced end; nobody needs them to have a full day.
Can you rent ski equipment at Eaglecrest?
Yes. The operator and the DMO listing both carry the on-site equipment rentals, alongside the Snowsports School, retail and repair services and day lockers. Prices and hours for the rental shop are not published on the pages we read, so budget it as a day-of line item and phone ahead on holiday weekends.
Is Eaglecrest worth visiting as a tourist in winter?
If you ski and the snow report is green, yes: $85 for a full day of Alaska mountain skiing on a municipal hill with no queues is the best winter value in town, and the channel views from the upper mountain are the bonus. If the report says rain, the rain and what to do page has better uses for the day, and the mountain will still be there on the next Wednesday-to-Sunday window.
Where a Ski Day Fits in a Juneau Trip
The winter counterpart to everything the summer pages sell; here is where it earns the day.
Juneau's visitor economy is a summer cruise economy, and Eaglecrest is what the town does with itself the rest of the year: a ski day is the local winter anchor and the tourist's rarest Juneau experience, because almost no cruise itinerary lands inside the season. On a land-based winter trip it chains cleanly: the mountain on a schedule day, the Douglas Island sights on the same road, and the downtown museums on the wet afternoons the coast guarantees. In the shoulder months the same road serves the summer trail network, and the things to do hub carries both seasons side by side.
- Winter land trip: ski Wednesday to Sunday, the Treadwell ruins walk on the rest day, and the museums in between.
- Powder Saturday: the early ferry of a drive across the bridge, the mountain until the legs go, dinner downtown.
- Rain-on-snow day: the Nordic loops at $30, then the state museum and the rain page list.
- Summer visit: the mountain becomes a hiking and biking hill; the glaciers hub owns the ice conversation instead.
Eaglecrest on Film
Three films of the same mountain: the operator's own season edit, a run down the Ptarmigan trail line, and the film that argues the community-mountain case.
Undiscovered: A Homegrown Alaskan Ski Area
The operator's own film on what a community mountain is, the best argument for the trip.
Video: Eaglecrest Ski AreaSkiing Ptarmigan, blue and green trails at Eaglecrest
A full run down the gentler side, useful for judging the beginner and intermediate terrain.
Video: Rodrigo GarciaWelcome To Eaglecrest
The operator's welcome film, the fastest tour of the lifts, the lodge and the mountain's scale.
Video: Eaglecrest Ski AreaVideos load from YouTube only when you press play.
Prices, hours and terms are set by the venue or operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure