Mount Roberts Tramway Tickets And Cost
A tram-cost question with an honest answer: the Mount Roberts Tramway tickets are not on sale, and no fare is published. The Goldbelt Tram has been closed since a car failed to slow at the bottom terminal on 30 April 2026, two employees were hospitalised, and as of this guide’s last check the operator's site says assessments continue with no reopening date and no prices. This page documents what the ticket picture was, what the platform's tram listings currently say, what the lower terminal costs nothing to enter, and how refunds work on every card touched here. The Juneau city guide homepage pulls the whole site together.
Quick answer What a tram ticket costs now (nothing is on sale) and what to watch for
There are no Mount Roberts Tramway tickets to buy: the Goldbelt Tram is closed after the 30 April 2026 accident, no reopening date is published, and no adult, child or senior fare appears on the official page. The lower terminal at 490 S Franklin Street is free to enter, with coffee, carving and weaving experiences and shopping.
Key takeaways
- The tram's full status, what happened and what is open, is on the tramway page.
- The platform listings that bundle the ride, like the tram ride with app and map, carry a may-not-operate caveat until the tram reopens (the bundle section).
- Downtown alternatives that cost little or nothing are ranked on the things-to-do hub.
Key facts
Opening hours
| Tram ride and ticket windows | Not operating; closed since 30 April 2026, no reopening date |
|---|---|
| Lower terminal experiences | Open; hours not stated on the official page |
| Historic pattern | Hours varied daily and changed with mountain weather, per the operator |
Closed The tramway is closed outright as assessments continue; the lower terminal at 490 S Franklin Street is open
Admission
- Adult
- Not stated: no adult, child or senior rate is published on the official page while closed
- Free
- The lower terminal is free to enter; coffee, cultural experiences and shopping at posted prices
Planning it
- Time needed
- Nothing to buy yet; when rides resume, the ticket-and-ride loop ran about two to three hours
- Book ahead
- Optional — walk-up usually fine
- Address
- 490 S Franklin Street, Juneau, AK 99801
The Ticket Table, With The Empty Official Row
The official ticket window first, as it will be when rides resume, then the platform's tram bundles as their listings stand today, read for this guide. Every tram-dependent row carries the closure in it.
Waiting for the tram to reopen, or looking for what the ride used to cost and what to do meanwhile?
| Option | Price | Status | For whom | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Goldbelt Tram ticket window (official)Anyone whose trip depends on the tram running; the official site is the source | Not stated: no fare published while closed | Ticketing exists on the official site; it sells nothing until assessments end | The check-before-you-travel link: whatever it shows on your port morning is current | Official site |
| Tram ride with app and map (platform)Readers tracing what the ride cost, not buyers | $100 as listed | Tram-dependent; may not operate until the tramway reopens | Not a buy today; documented so the pre-closure price is on the record | Check Availability |
| Alaska Native tour with tram and mealCultural travellers, with the caveat that the ride and the Timberline meal are both above the cable line | $145 as listed | Tram-dependent; the cultural content may survive in altered lower-terminal form | Readers weighing cultural options; verify operations before paying | Check Availability |
| Tram, trails and ale tourThe record, not the market | $125 as listed | Tram-dependent on both the ride and the mountaintop beer garden | Not bookable in good conscience while the tram is dark | Check Availability |
The official row is a plain, untracked link to the Goldbelt site. Platform rows are affiliate listings whose prices are the operators' own, read for this guide; none of them should be bought today, and the honest tram cost question is answered by the operator's own ticketing link the day it goes live again.
The Tram Bundles As Their Listings Stand
The three platform cards that bundle the tram, carried here for the record with their prices, ratings and the same closure caveat on each.
from $100
from $145
from $125
Juneau: Tram, Trails and Ale Tour
Listing description not captured; the platform page carries the current summary.
Check AvailabilityPrices, ratings and details are the platform's own; dollar figures are the listed prices — the platform bills in your account's currency.
Why No Fare Is Published: The Closure In Detail
The accident, the operator's own wording, and why this page refuses to print a stale price.
On 30 April 2026 a tram car failed to slow down approaching the bottom of the tramway and two employees went to hospital, reported by KTOO the next day. The tram has not carried paying passengers since. The operator's page states the Goldbelt Tram is temporarily closed as assessments continue, and adds the expectation of reopening this season once repairs, internal reviews and safety certification are complete. No date accompanies any of it.
That is also why no price appears here. The official page carries a ticketing link but no adult, child or senior rate, and a fare printed from memory or an older blog would be a guess wearing a number. The last figures the platform carried before the closure, documented on the table, were $100, $125 and $145, each with a may-not-operate caveat: $100 for a ride bundle with an app and map, $125 for a tram-and-ale tour and $145 for the cultural tour with a mountaintop meal. Treat those as history, not price anchors: an operator that has rebuilt its safety certification is entitled to a new rate sheet, and this page will print it when the official page does.
The free part of the ticket picture is real, though: the lower terminal at 490 S Franklin Street is open, costs nothing to enter, and offers Raven About Coffee, cultural carving and weaving experiences, and shopping (what is genuinely open).
What the check looks like on your port morning
Open the official site and read two things: the status line at the top, and whether the ticketing link sells a date. If the tram has resumed, hours will still vary daily with mountain weather, so treat any published schedule as the morning's schedule. The operator's phone, (907) 463-3412, answers the same question in a voice.
What The Bundled Listings Actually Say
Line by line through the three tram cards, because a listing's own fine print is the most honest thing about it right now.
The tram ride with app and map is the closest thing to a plain ticket the platform carries: a ride to the mountaintop included in the price, an app-based tour with 47 stories, and a 'cut the line' promise for booked guests. Its listing says guests arrive at the Goldbelt Tram Base on their own, no pickup. Rated 3.9 from 6 reviews, which is a small and unenthusiastic base even before the closure. Listed at $100.
The Alaska Native tour with tram ride and meal bundles the ride with Tlingit, Haida and Tsimshian cultural programming and a meal at the Timberline Grill, 2 hours 15 minutes in the listing's duration field. No rating or review count stands against it. At $145 it was the cultural deep-cut of the three, and it is the one whose non-ride content has the best odds of surviving in some form at the lower terminal, where carving and weaving are already offered.
The tram, trails and ale tour combined the ride, mountaintop trails and an Alaskan craft beer or wine at the mountaintop beer garden, 2 hours, listed at $125 with a 2.9 rating from 4 reviews. Every component it sells sits above the cable line.
If you already hold one of these bookings
Read your confirmation against the operator's status, then ask the seller the direct question: what happens to a tram-dependent booking while the tram does not run. The platform listings print free cancellation up to 24 hours before on two of the three cards, and reserve-now-pay-later on the same two, which means an uncharged booking is a walk-away booking. A card bought through a cruise line has different, tighter terms, and the ship's shore desk is the place that honours them.
Refund Expectations, Seller By Seller
What each kind of seller does when the product you bought cannot run.
The official ticket window. No sales exist to refund while the tram is closed, and the terms that will apply when sales resume are not yet published. Historic behaviour is the only guide and this page does not guess it.
The platform listings. The cards on this page print free cancellation, most up to 24 hours before the start, and reserve-now-pay-later on most bookings. A closure that outlasts your port day falls squarely inside those terms: if the operator cancels because the product cannot run, the refund is a process, not a negotiation.
Cruise-line shore excursions. Ships' excursion desks refund when the operator cannot deliver, and the closure is exactly that case, but the cut-off windows are tighter and the money moves slower. If the tram reopens mid-season, the same desks are also the least likely to have inventory, which cuts both ways.
What none of them owe: compensation for the view. A closure refund returns your money; it does not deliver the 1,800-foot panorama. The downtown alternatives are where that hour goes instead.
Tickets And Pages Nearby
Where the ticket question goes next. Or start again at the Juneau city guide.
Mount Roberts Tramway
The attraction page: the accident, the ride as built, and what the lower terminal offers (the tramway page).
The attraction twinJuneau tickets hub
Every ticketable thing in Juneau, official fares against tour prices, in one catalogue (the tickets hub).
The catalogueAlaska State Museum
The strongest indoor substitute for a dark mountaintop morning (the museum page).
About 8 minutes on foot (our estimate)Mount Roberts Tramway Tickets: Questions
How much does it cost to ride the Mount Roberts Tramway?
Not stated: no adult, child or senior fare is published on the official page while the tram is closed, and this page prints no figure from memory. The platform's pre-closure tram bundles listed at $100, $125 and $145, documented on the table as history rather than anchors.
Can I buy Mount Roberts Tramway tickets now?
No. The Goldbelt Tram has not run since 30 April 2026, the official ticketing link sells no dates, and any site offering a tram ticket for today is reselling a product that cannot operate (the status section).
When will tram tickets go on sale again?
Not stated. The operator expects reopening this season after repairs, reviews and safety certification, with no date attached; the ticketing link on the official site is the first thing that changes when sales resume.
Is the lower terminal free?
Yes: the base station at 490 S Franklin Street is free to enter, with Raven About Coffee, cultural carving and weaving experiences and shopping at their own posted prices (the status section).
What happens to a tram tour I already booked?
Ask the seller directly, and read the cancellation line: the platform listings on this page carry free-cancellation terms, most up to 24 hours before, so an undelivered product is refunded rather than argued over (refund expectations).
Are the platform tram bundles cheaper than the official window?
There is no official price to compare against while the tram is closed. When sales resume, the official window will set the fare and the bundles will price against it; the last pre-closure comparison is on the table with its caveats.
Is the tram ride included in the Alaska Native tour?
Its listing says yes: the Goldbelt Tram to the mountaintop plus cultural programming and a Timberline Grill meal. With the tram closed, that inclusion is suspended, and the card carries the may-not-operate caveat on the bundle section.
The Ticketed Experience, On Film
Three recordings of what the ticket bought before the closure: the ride, the mountaintop, and the price-of-entry question.
Goldbelt Tram Excursion in Juneau Alaska
The ride as a paying excursion, the product a reopening would resume selling.
Video: Northern Viking ExplorerHiking Mount Roberts vs. Goldbelt Tram | Juneau Alaska Cruise Guide
The value question the ticket page exists to answer, framed when both options ran.
Video: Docked DiscoveriesMt. Roberts Tram and Hike, Juneau, Alaska
A ticket holder's day: the ride up, the trails, and what the fare covered.
Video: AdventureNiHulyoVideos load from YouTube only when you press play.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure